South Carolina, United States Genealogy
Guide to South Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|South Carolina Wiki Topics|
|South Carolina Background|
|Local Research Resources|
South Carolina Information[edit | edit source]
South Carolina was the eighth state admitted to the United States on 23 May 1788. It was created from the Providence of South Carolina. It is located in the southeastern portion of the United States and consists of 46 counties. The capital of South Carolina is Columbia. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with South Carolina Research
Links to articles on getting started with South Carolina research.
South Carolina Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in South Carolina research.
South Carolina Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Bartholomew · Berkeley (1682-1768) · Berkeley (1785-1791) · Carteret · Charleston (1785-1791) · Claremont · Clarendon (1785-1800) · Colleton (1682-1768) · Colleton (1785-1791) · Craven · Granville (1708-1768) · Granville (1785-1791) · Hilton · Kingston · Lewisburg · Lexington (1785-1791) · Liberty · Lincoln · Marion (1785-1791) · Orange · Pendleton · Salem · Shrewsbury · Waccamaw · Washington · Winton · Winyah
Overarching Districts:Beaufort District · Camden District · Charleston District · Cheraw District · Georgetown District · Ninety-Six District · Orangeburgh District · Pendleton District · Pinckney District · Washington District
Districts that became Counties 1800–1868: Abbeville District · Anderson District · Barnwell District · Beaufort (1800-1868) District · Charleston (1800-1868) District · Chester District · Chesterfield District · Clarendon District · Colleton District · Darlington District · Edgefield District · Fairfield District · Georgetown (1800-1868) District · Greenville District · Horry District · Lancaster District · Laurens District · Lexington District · Marion District · Marlboro District · Orangeburg (1800-1868) District · Newberry District · Pendleton (1800-1826) District · Pickens District · Richland District · Spartanburg District · Sumter District · Williamsburg District · York District
Counties or Districts[edit | edit source]
To find South Carolina records, it helps to understanding the history of their counties and districts:
Colonial Parishes[edit | edit source]
All Saints · Christ Church · Prince Frederick · Prince George · Prince William · St. Andrew's · St. Bartholomew's · St. David's · St. George Dorchester · St. Helena's · St. James Goose Creek · St. James Santee · St. John's Berkeley · St. John's Colleton · St. Luke's · St. Mark's · St. Matthew's · St. Michael's · St. Paul's · St. Peter's · St. Philip's · St. Stephen's · St. Thomas and St. Denis
Colonial Townships[edit | edit source]
Amelia · Congaree · Edisto · Fredericksburg · Hillsborough · Kingston · Kings Town · Londonborough · New Windsor · Orangeburgh · Purrysburg · Queensboro · Queensborough · Saxe-Gotha · The Welsh Tract · Williamsburg
South Carolina Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
Savannah River · Augusta and Cherokee Trail · Augusta-Savannah Trail · Augusta-St. Augustine Trail · Camden-Charleston Path · Catawba and Northern Trail · Catawba Trail · Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail · Charleston-Savannah Trail · Cisca and St. Augustine Trail (or Nickajack Trail) · Coosa-Tugaloo Indian Warpath · Fall Line Road (or Southern Road) · Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path · Fort Moore-Charleston Trail · Great Valley Road · King's Highway · Lower Cherokee Traders' Path · Lower Creek Trading Path · Middle Creek Trading Path · Occaneechi Path · Old Cherokee Path · Old South Carolina State Road · Savannah-Jacksonville Trail · Secondary Coast Road · Tugaloo-Apalachee Bay Trail · Unicoi Trail · Upper Road · Ports: Beaufort · Charleston · Georgetown · Atlantic Coast Ports
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - South Carolina genealogy sites on the internet
- South Carolina Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of South Carolina
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for South Carolina
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for South Carolina genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for South Carolina
- South Carolina Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
- South Carolina Archives
- South Carolina Genealogy! Just Ask! - South Carolina Genealogy! Just Ask! This group is sponsored by Genealogy! Just Ask! a Facebook Group. Ask questions about ancestors who lived in South Carolina or about South Carolina resources.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.