South Hetton or Haswell, Durham Genealogy
Guide to South Hetton or Haswell, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Hetton or Haswell, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Easington|
|Parish registers: 1870|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HASWELL, a township, in the parish and union of Easington, S division of Easington ward, N division of the county of Durham, 6 miles E by N from Durham. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.
The parish of Haswell or South Hetton was formed in 1870 from the parish of Easington. Haswell St Paul parish includes Haswell and Hetton. From the arrangement of Bishop's Transcripts it is evident that these communities were treated as a separate group from the Easington parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|South Hetton or Haswell Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Durham ($)|
|Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Durham ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Durham ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records (FamilySearch) - free
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- Primitive Methodists
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
South Hetton or Haswell (see Easington) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.