To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

South Malling, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to South Malling, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Malling, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringmer
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Lewes
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MALLING, SOUTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Lewes, hundred of Ringmer, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 1 mile (N.) from Lewes. It is bounded on the west by the river Ouse. The church, described as collegiate in Domesday book, and said to have been founded by Ceadwalla, King of the West Saxons, who died in 668, is a small neat edifice, built on the site of the former, and consecrated May 23rd, 1632; it was repaired and repewed by subscription in 1837: the chancel contains an altar-tomb to the memory of Sir William and Lady Kemp. The archbishops of Canterbury had a palace here, the chapel of which has been converted into a cottage.[1]

South Malling is part of Lewes for local government purposes Lewes Wikipedia

South Malling St Michael the Archangel is an Ancient Parish and is a former collegiate Church List of collegiate Churches in England Wikipedia.

South Malling St Michael History

The church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Lewes St Michael the Archangel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship include

Kings Church Evangelical church

See also Listof places of worship in Lewes Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. here

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

South Malling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
South Malling Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Lewes Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/SouthMalling/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch