South Muskham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: South Muskham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|South Muskham, Nottinghamshire|
South Muskham St Wilfrid Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1623|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MUSKHAM, SOUTH (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¼ miles (N.) from Newark..
South Muskham St Wilfrid is an Ancinet Parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire and included South Carlton and Little Carlton.
The parish church of St Wilfrid South Muskham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also St Wilfrid South Muskham Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
South Muskham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SOUTH MUSKHAM PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1589-1901 Marriages 1589-1900 Burials 1597-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1623-1861
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Muskham, South
South Muskham with Little Carlton Parish Registers 1659-1812, transcribed by Genda, Ruth. Baptisms, Marriages, Burials 1660-1683, with subsequent years up to 1812, with a surname and placename index at the back. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 130, pages 3-70, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n v.130.
Vicars of South Muskham. A list of Vicars dating from 1295-1961. Church Wardens of South Muskham dating from 1581-1817, and a list of Parish Clerks from 1654-1909, Constables and Overseers of the Poor, Overseers of the Highways, with an Index of Place Names, and Surnames at end of article. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol. 130, pages 78-98, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n v130
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.