To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

South Weston, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to South Weston, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Weston, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pirton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1684; 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WESTON, SOUTH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Thame, hundred of Pirton, county of Oxford, 2¾ miles (S. by E.) from Tetsworth. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

South Weston, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
South Weston, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1658-1750

OFHS 1586-1980
1559-1970
1558-1978


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference
[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 524-527. Date accessed: 27 September 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.