To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Southbourne, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Southbourne, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southbourne, Sussex
Southbourne St John the Evangelist West Sussex.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbourne and Singleton
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1878; For more records see Westbourne
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Southbourne, eccl. dist. and vil., Westbourne par., Sussex, 2½ miles E. of Havant. [1] Southbourne is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex.

Southbourne was originally a chapelry of Westbourne, Sussex Ancient Parish until 1878 when the Church of St John the Evangelist became the ecclesiastical parish.

history and images

Southbourne Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Emmanuel Free Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Former Methodist Chapel, Nutbourne Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Southbourne Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Southbourne, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Southbourne, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1878-1901
1878-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Southbourne

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.