To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Southfleet, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Southfleet, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Southfleet, Kent
Southfleet St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Southfleet St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SOUTHFLEET (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 3½ miles SW from Gravesend; containing, with the hamlets of Betsome, Hook-Green and Westwood, 667 inhabitants. This was a place of importance during the heptarchy, when it was called Sudfleta; and from its proximity to the old Watling Street, its distance from the station Durobrivis (Rochester), and the numerous Roman relics found on the spot, it is supposed to have been known long before the heptarchy, and to occupy the site of the Vagniacæ of Antoninus.The parish comprises 2541a. 2r. 30p., of which 229 acres are in wood. The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £31. 15., and in the gift of the Bishop of Rochester: the tithes have been commuted for £872, and the glebe contains 6 acres. The church is principally in the decorated English style, and exhibits many marks of antiquity, including six stone stalls under pointed arches, a piscina, a window of stained glass, and a font much admired for its curious workmanship. A school is endowed with a rent-charge of £20.

Southfleet is a village and civil parish within the Borough of Dartford in Kent Southfleet Wikipedia.

Southfleet St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Rochester.

The Church of St Nicholas Church Street Southfleet has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 149-152. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51289 Date accessed: 18 November 2013.

See Edward Hasted [The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 421-440. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Southfleet parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[4]
Southfleet Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1853
1718-1851

FREG 1558-1920
1558-1932
1641-1915
FS BTs 1718-1853 1718-1853 1718-1853
MED 1558-1932 1558-1932 1558-1932

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Southfleet

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Southfleet 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.