Southwell Holy Trinity, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Southwell Holy Trinity, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Southwell Holy Trinity, Nottinghamshire|
Southwell Holy Trinity Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1633|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOUTHWELL (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 14 miles (N. E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the hamlets of Hexgreave and Normanton. It comprises the districts of Burgage, the High Town, Easthorpe, and Westhorpe, together forming a considerable though scattered town. An additional church, dedicated to the Trinity, was consecrated in April, 1846. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyan Methodists.
Southwell Holy Trinity was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish from the Ancient parish of Southwell, Nottinghamshire in 1846.
The Church of Holy Trinity Southwell has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
See also Southwell Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1846-1901 Burials 1846-1901
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Transcription of Monumental Inscriptions from inside, and outside the Church, dating from 1700, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age at death. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, pages 1-8, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.