Southwick, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Southwick, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Hampshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Fareham|
|Parish registers: 1586; For more records see Boarhunt|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOUTHWICK (St. James), a parish, in the union of Fareham, hundred of Portsdown, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Fareham..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Southwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|SOUTHWICK PARISH Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Barber, Norman. The Nortons of Southwick. The genealogy of a 17th century Hampshire Family from 1638-1666, starting with the children of Mr. Richard Norton and Ann Norton nee Erle, starting in chronological order.Also includes a family tree. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XI, no. 1, May 1984, pages 63-67. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Crook, Richard. The Crook Lineage 1639-1888. A detailed family tree of John Crook married 15 Jan 1639 at Droxford, to Jane Staires, with baptisms and burials in Boarhunt, Southwick and Hambledon. Tree dates from 1639-1974. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 1, page 66. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 152-156. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.