To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Southwick, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Southwick, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwick, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SOUTHWICK (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (E.) from Shoreham. It is bounded on the east by Aldrington and Portslade, on the west by Kingston, on the north by Poynings and Edburton, and on the south by the sea. The river Adur intersects its southern portion, and the Portsmouth branch of the London and Brighton railway also passes through it. The church is principally in the Norman style; the upper part of the tower, and some smaller portions, arc of later date. In 1834 it was enlarged.[1]

Southwick is a small town and civil parish in the Adur district of West Sussex. Southwick West Sussex Wikipedia

St Michael and All Angels Southwick Wikipedia is an Ancient Parish.

The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Southwick St Michael and All Angels

The Parish church of St Michael has been listed as a grade II British Listed building

Southwick Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

All Souls Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Congregational Church now Southwick Christian Community Church Sussex Parish Clerks Online (OPC)
Methodist Church dated from 1876, closed in 1955 and subsequently demolished
Southwick Methodist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Peter & St Mary (Anglican) dates from 1938 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Theresa of Lisieux Roman Catholic Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
The Assembly Room closed 1921

see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex list of places of worship in Adur Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records[edit | edit source]

Southwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Southwick Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Southwick/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 152-156. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch