Spetchley, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Spetchley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Spetchley, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Pershore
Registration District Pershore
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Worcester
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SPETCHLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Pershore, Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Worcester, on the road to Evesham. At the Hall is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Spetchley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Worcestershire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1541-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Worcestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Spetchley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 15