Spratton, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Spratton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Northamptonshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Brixworth|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1707|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SPRATTON (St. Luke), a parish, in the union of Brixworth, hundred of Spelhoe, S division of the county of Northampton, 6¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Northampton. There are places of worship for Independents and Baptists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Spratton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|Spratton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Howcutt, Francis. The Howcutt Family At Brixworth. Family history of Thomas Howcutt 1776-1844 and Elizabeth Martin and descendants, with some of the family at Spratton, and Sussex Lavington, and London. Article dated from 1776-1851, with the following surnames, Adnitt, Sykes, Moody, Allen Jeacock, and Clay. Article in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.5.no.2. page 42-44. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.5
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.