St Dionis Backchurch, London Genealogy
London St Dionis Backchurch ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Dionis Backchurch, London|
|Hundred||London, Within the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||City of London|
|Registration District||London City|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1799|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Church records
- 2.2 Cemetery
- 2.3 Census records
- 2.4 Probate Records
- 2.5 Civil Registration
- 2.6 Records of the Poor
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
"St Dionis Backchurch is situated near the southwest corner of Lime Street, behind the houses on the north side of Fenchurch Street. It derives its name from being dedicated to St Dionis, Dionysius, or Denis, as it is called in various languages, an Athenian Areopagite, or judge, who was converted to Christianity, and became Bishop of Athens... The addition "Back Church" was given to this church from its situation, and to distinguish it from the church of St. Gabriel, which stood in front of the street.
"The ancient church was destroyed in the great fire in 1666, and rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren in 1674, who added the tower and steeple in 1684. The edifice is principally of stone, but part of the walls are of brick, which have been subsequently stuccoed. It is of the Ionic order, of a masculine bold style; within a nave 66 feet long, and 34 high, separated from two capacious aisles, by Ionic columns. The entire width of the nave and aisles is 34 feet within the walls. The oldest authentic mention of this church and parish is in 1288...
"it is one of the 13 peculiar in the city, belonging to the Archbishop of Canterbury. The patronage was formerly in the prior and canons of the church; but at the dissolution of the priory, it was conferred by Henry VIII upon the demon chapter of Canterbury, who have remained patrons of the houses [till the 19th century]. It is a rectory, in the province of Canterbury..."
St Dionis Backchurch belonged to Langbourn Ward.
St. Dionis Backchurch is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury. It is a parish within the poor law union of the City of London.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
- Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1849.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Transcripts of early St Dionis Backchurch, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.
Find A Grave has started a page on St Dionis Backchurch's monumental inscriptions.
Census records[edit | edit source]
1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Dionis Backchurch and St Peter Cornhill, Lime Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/221); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Dionis Backchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/223); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Dionis Backchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1576 London Subsidy Roll, St Deonis Backchurch at Alan H. Nelson website (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252)
- St Dionis Backchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Dionis Backchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.
Before 1858, St Dionis Backchurch fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]
- St Dionis Backchurch Parish Account Books, Clothing Books, Workhouse Inquest Minute Books, Parish Minute Books, Vestry Minutes, Miscellaneous Papers, Churchwarden Voucher/Receipts, Letters Seeking Pauper Relief, Register of Poor Infants, Bastardy Bonds (1600s-1800s)at London Lives
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Dionis Backchurch Parish the unique surname Backchurch.
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source](The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Sketch of St. Dionis Backchurch Parish Churchat London Ancestor
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Dionis Backchurch')
References[edit | edit source]
- James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed. 19 November 2013.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dionis Backchurch in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dionis Backchurch in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dionis Backchurch in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dionis Backchurch in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batches P001401, C001402, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- Joseph Lemuel Chester, The reiester booke of Saynte De'nis, Backchurch parishe (city of London) for maryages, christenyges, and buryalles, begynnynge in the yeare of Our Lord God 1538 (London: Mitchell and Hughes, 1878).
- Batch M001401 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
- John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
- Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.