To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stanislaus County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stanislaus County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Stanislaus County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Stanislaus County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 17, 1907
County Seat Modesto
Courthouse
CaliforniaStanislausCourthouse.jpg
Address Stanislaus County Courthouse
1021 I Street
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: 209.525.5250
Stanislaus County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Stanislaus County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1900 1870 1900 1854 1854 1854 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk Recorder has marriage records from 1870
birth and death records from 1900  Clerk Superior Court
has divorce, probate and court records from 1854
County Recorder has land records from 1854[2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for the Stanislaus River. The county seat Modesto and the county was created 1854. [3]The County is located in the central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Stanislaus, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Stanislaus County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Stanislaus County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Modesto
  • Oakdale
  • Turlock

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Germans[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Stanislaus County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Alameda CountySan Joaquin CountyCalaveras CountyTuolumne CountyMariposa CountyMerced CountySanta Clara CountyCA STANISLAUS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stanislaus County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Stanislaus - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Stanislaus County Library
Address:
1500 I St
Modesto, CA 95354
Telephone: (209) 558-7800
The library's catalog is online. It has many items genealogy related items. The library subscribes to a number of online databases, some of which would be useful to genealogists. The Special Collections room at the Modesto Library includes works on genealogy, sections on California and local history, and older high school yearbooks. This area also includes non-current editions of local telephone and city directories. None of these items may be checked out. Volunteers from the Stanislaus Genealogical Society often staff this room and answer genealogical queries. 

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Genealogical Society of Stanislaus County, CA., Inc.
Address:
P. O. Box A
Modesto, CA 95352-3660
Telephone: (209) 529-6467
Email: gssc@worldnet.att.net
The Stanislaus Genealogical Society works closely with the Stanislaus County Library's Special Collections Room, adding to its holdings, volunteering there, and answering queries.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

McHenry Museum and Historical Society
1402 I Street
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: 209.577.5235

Stanislaus County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4735
Modesto 95352

Genealogical Society of Stanislaus County
PO Box A
Modesto, CA 95352-3660
Website

Patterson Township Historical Society
PO Box 15
Patterson, CA 95363

Pocahontas Trails Genealogical Society
3628 Cherokee Lane
Modesto, CA 95356

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stanislaus County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stanislaus County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Stanislaus County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/stanis/ 05/08/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Stanislaus County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanislaus_County,_California 05/08/2017.