Staplefield Common, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Staplefield Common, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Staplefield Common, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1852|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STAPLEFIELD-COMMON, a chapelry in Cuckfield parish, Sussex; 4¼ miles NW of Haywards-Heath railway station. It was constituted in 1848; and it has a post-office under Crawley. The church was built in 1847. There are an Independent chapel and a national school.
Staplefield St Mark is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1848 from Cuckfield, Sussex Ancient Parish.
Church history Staplefiedl St Mark
St Mark's Church Staplefield has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
Other places of worship include
Our Lady of Fatima (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Staplefield Common, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Staplefield Common, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Staplefield St Mark
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1847-1958 Marr 1849-1988 Bur 1847-1956 Bishop's Transcripts 1852-1893
Link to the FamilySearch Cataloguw showing the film numbers in their collection Staplefield Common
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.