To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Staplegate, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Staplegate, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Staplegate, Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STAPLEGATE, an extra-parochial district, the northern suburb of the city of Canterbury, in the union of Blean, hundred of Westgate, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent. [1]

Staplegate is an extra parochial place.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Blean Registration District Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Staplegate Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1883 1538-1883; 1754-1809 (banns) 1538-1883

Staplegate is an extra parochial place in the city of Canterbury adjacent to other extra parochial areas of the city , see England Jurisdictions 1851

For an overview of the City Canterbury Kent Online Parish Clerks

FamilySearch microfilm holdings are not readily pin pointed due to the hierarchy of the currently available catalogue online, the search terms England, Kent, Canterbury produce 206 microfilm holdings.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 192-195. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

FamilySearch