Steeple Morden, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Steeple Morden, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Steeple Morden, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Armingford
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Royston
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shingay
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STEEPLE-MORDEN, a parish in the district of Royston and county of Cambridge; 2¾ miles N of Ashwell railway station, and 4¾ WNW of Royston. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Steeple Morden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Steeple Morden Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1855 1599-1837
1599-1855

Parish register transcripts, 1599-1851 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Steeple-Morden, 1599-1855 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Steeple Morden on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.