Stelling, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Stelling, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Elham|
|Parish registers: 1557; For more records see Upper Hardres|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STELLING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Elham, partly in the hundred of Loningborough, but chiefly in that of Stouting, lathe of Shepway E division of Kent, 6 miles S by W from Canterbury. 
Stelling is a village in the civil parish of Stelling Minnis in the Shepway district of Kent, see Stelling Minnis Wikipedia Part of the civil parish is the extra parochial Stelling Minnis, Kent Genealogy<
The Parish Church of St Mary, Harvest Lane, Stelling Minnis, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 91-95. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online Kent Churches
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Stelling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Stelling Online Parish Records|
|FS Canterbury PRs||1538-1986||1538-1986||1538-1986|
|FMP East Kent||1538-1754||1813-1841|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Family History Library film numbers
Parish registers Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precincts, Canterbury, Kent.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Stelling available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832.
A further set of images for Acrise, Elham, Stelling and Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832.
The images are derived from 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives which contain the following description:
"Elham is a sub-district and a parish. The sub-district includes the parishes of Stelling and Acrise. There is no information regarding Upper Hardres. Elham is included in items 5-7, while Stelling and Upper Hardres are in item 6, and Acrise is in item 7". (original entry corrected to correct spelling of Hardres).
Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/120-122.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.