Stengårdshult Parish, Jönköping, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Stengårdshult Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Stengårdshult Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Stengårdshult Parish, Jönköping, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Skara
Pastorat -1961 Stengårdshult, Norra Unnaryd, Öreryd, Norra Hestra and Valdshult, 1962- Norra Hestra, Stengårdshult, Norra Unnaryd, Öreryd and Valdshult.
Län Jönköping
Landskap Småland
Härad Mo
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1720-1752 Östbo, 1753-1945 Tveta, Vista and Mo, 1946-1966 Jönköping, 1967- Reftele,
Kommun 1863-1951 Stengårdshult, 1952-1970 Södra Mo, 1971- Gislaved,
Militär indelning Smålands Grenadier-Bataljon
Jönköpings Kompani
Jönköpings Regemente
Mo Härads Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/VALA/00347
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Anderstorp,

Backa, Bro(e)n, Bruket Åsafors, Bråten, Bubbarp, Bygget, Bäckaryd,

Dalabäcken, Dammen, Djurarydet, Duvebäcken,

Fattighuset Stengårdhult, Fjälla, Fjällen Pung, Fjällen Stengårdhult Prästgård,

Gräsryd, gunnarsbo, Gräsryd, Gärdestorpet, Göljåsen,

Hallabo, Horshult, Hulsjöfjäll, Hägnen, Hösabo,

Johansbygget,

Knekttorp; Fjällen Pung, Kulshestra, Plombo Västergård, Sandsebo Storegård, Rödjerna Styrshult, Styrshult, Tunabo, Kolabo, Kortliden, Kulshestra (Kullhestra), Kulshestra Västergård, Kulshestra Östergård,

Kärr (Kjerr), Kärshult (Kjershult),

Lillegården Sandsebo, Lindhult, Lunnarsbo, Lämmaryd,

Majebo,

Norratorp, Näset,

Plombo Södergård, Plombo Västergård, Plombo Östergård, Prästgården Stengårdshult, Pung, Puttebo,

Rydet Hallabo, Rydet Stenliden, Ryttaretorp Kolabo, Röckleryd, Rödjerna,

Sandsebo Skattegård, Sandsebo  Storegård, Sjöbo, Skogen, Skolhuset, Sommarhult, Stendalen, Stenhyltan, Stenkullen, Stenliden, Strömsberg, Stuveryd, Styrshult (Styreshult), Svenshult, Säldeberget, Södergärdet (Sörgärdet), Tranhult, Tranås, Tunabo, Tunarydet, Tåbo,

Virvhult,

Åsabränna, Åsafors bruk, Ängatorpet, Ängen,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Jönköping Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Jönköping" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References [edit | edit source]

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Stengårdshult Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). June 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/

Stengårdshult Parish, Husförhörslängd 1840-1854 AI;6, Ort register.