To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stone-in-Oxney, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stone-in-Oxney

Guide to Stone-in-Oxney, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stone-in-Oxney, Kent
Stone+in+Oxney St+Mary Kent.jpg
Stone+in+Oxney St+Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxney
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tenterden
Registration District Tenterden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STONE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Tenterden, hundred of Oxney, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 6½ miles SE from Tenterden. [1]

Stone-in-Oxney is a village and civil parish of Stone-cum-Oxney near Appledore in the Ashford district of Kent. Stone-in-Oxney Wikipedia.

Stone-in-Oxney St Mary is an Ancient Parish; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The church of St Mary, Church Road, Stone has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 480-486. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

This parish should not be confused with Stone (near Dartford), Kent or Stone (next Faversham), Kent.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was part of Tenterden registration district Tenterden Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Stone-in-Oxney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Stone-in-Oxney Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1568-1812

FREG
1754-1911

IGI 1567-1599 1567-1812

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Stone near Appledore 1841-1891

The Family History Library offers two sets of microfilm numbers at present and care needs to be exercised which film numbers are in fact correct given the possibility of confusion with 2 other places in the county.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 224-229. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.