Stonegate, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Stonegate, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ticehurst|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STONEGATE, a chapelry in Ticehurst parish, Sussex; 1¼ mile NE of Ticehurst-Road r. station, and 9 SSE of Tunbridge-Wells. It was constituted in 1839. Stonegate is within the Ticehurst civil parish in the Rother district of East Sussex
Stonegate St Peter is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1838 from Ticehurst, Sussex Ancient Parish. The 1838 church was enlarged in 1904 to form the present church and it appears was realigned.
The civil parish is Ticehurst see Ticehurst Wikipedia
A history of the church including realignment since 1838 is available at Stonegate St Peter
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stonegate
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.