Stratfield Mortimer, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Stratfield Mortimer, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stratfield Mortimer, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Bradfield|
|Parish registers: 1629-1680 (few); 1681|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1615|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STRATFIELD-MORTIMER (St. Mary), a parish,in the union of Bradfield, partly in the hundred of Holdshott, Basingstoke and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Theale,county of Berks, 8 miles (S. W. by S.) from Reading, with the tythings of Wokefield and Mortimer West-End, tything of Stratfield-Mortimer. Stratfield Mortimer was chiefly in the hundred of Theale (Berkshire) but partly in that of Lower Holdshott (Hampshire), and thus, in two counties.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stratfield Mortimer, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).|
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|STRATFIELD MORTIMER PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stratfield Mortimer in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 06 May 2014.
- GENUKI contributors, "Stratfield Mortimer" in GENUKI,  accessed 4 October 2017.
- 'Berkshire Marriages 1538-1927,', findmypast, accessed 6 June 2014.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.