To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Strood St Nicholas, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Strood St Nicholas

Guide to Strood, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Strood St Nicholas, Kent
Strood St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Strood St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochester City; Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford
Registration District Medway; North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STROOD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, partly within the jurisdiction of the city of Rochester, and partly in the hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, ½ a mile NW from Rochester. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Strood is one of the Medway Towns in the Rochester district of Kent. See Strood Wikipedia which includes places of worship in Strood and Frindsbury.

The parish church of St Nicholas College Yard Strood has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building and refers to the church serving now as the Diocesan Architect's offices.

Other Anglican parishes included: Strood St Mary Vicarage Road now New Testament Church of God. Strood St Mary Vicarage Road has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building.

Places of worship in Strood include:

  • St Mary's Church Frindsbury was opened by Bishop Claughton in 1869 now operated by the New Testament Church of God.
  • Zoar Chapel High Street Strood 1782 - Protestant dissenters.
  • Gospel Mission Evangelical Church, Brompton Lane
  • Wesleyan Methodist Jubilee Church, Stone Horse Lane (now Cliffe Road)
  • English Martyrs Catholic Church
  • St Justus Catholic Church
  • Darnley Road Evangelical Church
  • St Francis' Anglican Church.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Strood St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Strood St Nicholas Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1813-1849
1565-1837
1813-2005
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Strood 1841-1891.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-252. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch