Stuntney, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stuntney, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stuntney, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ely
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Ely
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1545; For more records see Ely Holy Trinity
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STUNTNEY, a chapelry in Ely-Trinity parish, Cambridge; 1½ mile SE of Ely railway station.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stuntney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Stuntney Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1857 1599-1836
1599-1857

Stuntney parish register, Cambridgeshire at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Stuntney, 1599-1857 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

A Transcription of the 1841 UK Census is available at Archives.org. The remaining censuses for Stuntney are part of Ely, which comprises both Ely Holy Trinity and Ely St. Mary. Ely Trinity contains the chaplery of Stuntney. The first microfilm at the Family History Library is 193656.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stuntney on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.