Surrey Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Surrey Wiki Topics
Surreyflag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Surrey Background
Local Research Resources

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Images of Surrey's parish registers are available online at Ancestry.

Baptisms

101,080 Surrey entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

The majority of Surrey's parishes (except some Metropolitan parishes) are indexed in Surrey Marriage Index 1500-1846 (£).[2]

47% of Surrey's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Southwark and Bermondsey were popular places to get married.[3]

16,765 Surrey entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Burials

Burials from 183 Surrey places (432,867 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]

  • 1673-1770 - Allegations for Marriage Licences Issued by the Commissary Court of Surrey Between 1673-1770 (1907). Digitised by FamilySearch Digital Library.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'About Surrey Marriage Index 1500-1846,' Origins.net, accessed 2 September 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.