To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sussex Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sussex Wiki Topics
Flag of Sussex.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sussex Background
Local Research Resources

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Many of Sussex county baptism, marriage, and burial records for various parishes in Sussex have been digitized and made searchable via Familysearch.org's Family History Centers. You can access them via the use of the FamilySearch.org's online Catalog.[edit | edit source]
Numerous of these church registers are now indexed and made available online on their website for free searches. (Also see the Sussex Online Parish Clerkswiki page.). See the Church Records Online section for what's available for searches online overall.[edit | edit source]

Church Records Online[edit | edit source]

1) Ancestry.co.uk has approximately 6.4 million searchable christening, marriages and burials entries currently. (13Feb19)

2) FamilySearch.org has 5.7 million searchable entries of christening, marriages and burials for Sussex. (13Feb19)

3) Sussex Online Parish Clerks - has indexed parish registers for a portion of the county.


Baptisms

337,818 Sussex entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1] These entries are now available for searching online at Familysearch.org.

Marriages

71,580 Sussex entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[2]. These entries are now available for searching online at Familysearch.org.

Burials

Burials from 25 Sussex places (56,168 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Findmypast.co.uk has this national index available for searches. Coverage.[3]

Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]

  • 1586-1643 - Calendar of Sussex Marriage Licences, Archdeaconry of Lewes, 1586-1642/3 (1901). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  • 1575-1774 - Boyd's Marriage Index (£) includes Archdeaconry of Chichester marriage licences (1575-1774), Archdeaconry of Lewes marriage licences (1586-1728), and Peculiar Deanery of Chichester marriage licences (1582-1730).[4]
  • 1731-1800 - Calendar of Sussex Marriage Licences, Archdeaconry of Chichester, 1775-1800; Index to 1731-1800 (1929). Digitised by FamilySearch Digital Library - free.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.