To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sussex, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sussex Genealogy)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sussex Wiki Topics
Flag of Sussex.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sussex Background
Local Research Resources
Sussex England


Guide to Sussex ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

This page is about the historic county in southeast England. For other uses, see Sussex (disambiguation).

{{{link}}}

County Information[edit | edit source]

Sussex is a former maritime county located in South East England and corresponding roughly in area to the ancient Kingdom of Sussex.

The county of Sussex is named for the South Saxons, in Old English, sūth + Seaxe. The expression Suth Seaxe is first recorded in the late 9th century. In the Domesday Book (1086) it is Sudsexe. ...The historic county of Sussex has been divided into East and West since the 12th century, and obtained separate county councils in 1888, but it remained a single ceremonial county until 1974 and the coming into force of the Local Government Act 1972.

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Sussex parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Sussex.

Civil Districts[edit | edit source]

List of Sussex Civil Registration Districts

Websites[edit | edit source]