Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sutton Bonington St. Michael, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire
St Michael Sutton Bonington Nottinghamshire.jpg
St Michael Sutton Bonington Nottinghamshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SUTTON-BONNINGTON, a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Kegworth. The living consists of the rectories of St. Anne and St. Michael. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

The mediaeval parish of St Michael is the Ancient Parish church of Bonington in the Rush cliffe district of Notinghamshire.

Sutton Bonington village  has two medieval churches, a result of the merging of the two original villages (Sutton and Bonington); they are St Michael's Church (Bonington's parish church, located on Main Street) and St Anne's Church (Sutton's church, located down St Anne's Lane) see Sutton Bonington St Anne, Nottinghamshire Genealogy.

See St Michael's Church Bonington Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SUTTON BONINGTON ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1559-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1968 Marriages 1560-1979 Burials 1558-1900 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton Bonington St Michael

Sutton Bonington St Michael.  Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1765, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 38-40, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Sutton Bonnington, Marlpit Hill Cemetery. Available on line, at the Nottinghamshire Family History Society. Transcription also given dated from 1913, in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, page 41-43, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation
[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire Genealogy

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Sutton Bonnington in GENUKI

Sutton Bonnington, St. Michael in GENUKI

[tree] This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
v • d • e
Links to Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Annesley  • Arnold  • Askham  • Attenborough  • Averham with Kelham  • Awsworth  • Babworth  • Balderton  • Barnby in the Willows  • Barton in Fabis  • Basford  • Beckingham  • Beeston  • Besthorpe  • Bilborough with Strelley  • Bilsthorpe  • Bingham  • Bleasby  • Blidworth  • Blyth  • Bole  • Bothamsall  • Boughton St Matthew  • Bradmore  • Bramcote  • Brewhouse Yard  • Broughton Sulney  • Bulcote  • Bulwell  • Bunny  • Burton Joyce  • Calverton  • Carburton  • Car Colston  • Carlton in Lindrick  • Carlton on Trent  • Carrington  • Caunton  • Clarborough  • Clayworth  • Clifton with Glapton  • Coddington  • Colston Bassett  • Colwick  • Cossall  • Costock  • Cotgrave  • Cotham  • Cottam  • Cromwell  • Cropwell Bishop  • Darlton  • Dunham  • Eakring  • East Bridgford  • East Drayton  • East Leake  • East Markham  • East Retford  • East Stoke  • Eastwood  • Eaton  • Edingley  • Edwalton  • Edwinstowe  • Egmanton  • Elksley  • Elston  • Elton on the Hill  • Epperstone  • Everton  • Farndon  • Farnsfield  • Felley  • Finningley  • Flawborough  • Fledborough  • Flintham  • Fulwood  • Gamston  • Gedling  • Girton  • Gonalston  • Gotham  • Granby  • Greasley  • Gringley on the Hill  • Grove  • Halam  • Halloughton  • Harworth  • Haughton  • Hawksworth  • Hawton  • Hayton  • Haywood Oaks  • Headon cum Upton  • Hickling  • Hockerton  • Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton  • Hucknall Torkard  • Hyson Green  • Ironville  • Kelham  • Keyworth  • Kilvington  • Kimberley  • Kingston on Soar  • Kinoulton  • Kirkby in Ashfield  • Kirklington  • Kirton  • Kneesall  • Kneeton  • Lambley  • Laneham  • Langar cum Barnstone  • Langford with Holme  • Laxton  • Lenton  • Linby  • Lindhurst  • Littleborough  • Lodge on the Wolds  • Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe  • Mansfield St Peter and St Paul  • Mansfield Woodhouse  • Maplebeck  • Markham Clinton  • Marnham  • Mattersey  • Meering  • Misson  • Misterton  • Morton  • New Basford  • New Radford  • Newark on Trent  • Newark on Trent Christ Church  • Newstead Priory  • Normanton on Soar  • Normanton on Trent  • North Clifton  • North Collingham  • North Leverton with Apesthorpe  • North Muskham  • North Wheatley  • Norton Cuckney  • Norwell  • Nottingham St James  • Nottingham St John the Baptist  • Nottingham St Mary the Virgin  • Nottingham St Nicholas  • Nottingham St Paul  • Nottingham St Peter  • Nuthall  • Ollerton  • Ordsall  • Orston  • Ossington  • Owthorpe  • Oxton  • Papplewick  • Park Leys  • Park, The  • Perlethorpe  • Plumtree  • Radcliffe on Trent  • Radford St Peter  • Ragnall  • Rampton  • Ratcliffe on Soar  • Rempstone  • Rolleston  • Ruddington  • Rufford Abbey  • Saundby  • Scarrington  • Screveton  • Scrooby  • Selston with Underwood and Westwood  • Shelford  • Shelton  • Sibthorpe  • Skegby  • Sneinton St Stephen  • South Collingham  • South Leverton  • South Muskham  • South Scarle  • South Wheatley  • Southwell  • Southwell Holy Trinity  • Standard Hill  • Stanford on Soar  • Stanton on the Wolds  • Stapleford  • Staunton  • Stockwith  • Stokeham  • Strelley  • Sturton le Steeple  • Sutton Bonington St Anne  • Sutton Bonington St Michael  • Sutton cum Lound  • Sutton in Ashfield  • Sutton on Trent  • Syerston  • Teversal  • The Park  • Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme  • Thoroton  • Thorpe  • Thrumpton  • Thurgarton with Hoveringham  • Tollerton  • Treswell  • Trowell  • Tuxford  • Tythby with Cropwell Butler  • Upton  • Walesby  • Walkeringham  • Warsop with Sookholme  • Welbeck  • Wellow  • West Bridgford  • West Burton  • West Drayton  • West Leake  • West Retford  • Weston  • Whatton  • Widmerpool  • Wilford  • Willoughby on the Wolds  • Winkburn  • Winthorpe  • Wiverton Hall  • Wollaton  • Woodborough  • Woodhouse Hall  • Woodsetts  • Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert  • Wysall

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Sutton_Bonington_St_Michael,_Nottinghamshire_Genealogy&oldid=3762498"