Sutton cum Lound, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Sutton cum Lound, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Sutton cum Lound, Nottinghamshire|
Sutton-cum-Lound St Bartholomew Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SUTTON-CUM-LOUND, a parish, with two townships, in East Retford district, Notts; on the Great Northern railway, 3 miles NNW of East Retford. It has a post-office, of the name of Lound, under Retford, and a r. station, of the name of Sutton. There are Independent and Wesleyan chapels.
Sutton cum Lound St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw District of Nottinghamshire.
The parish church of St Bartholomew Church Lane has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
The former church of Lound St Anne is now a private dwelling; for an illustrated history the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the bulding Lound St Anne
See also Sutton cum Lound Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sutton cum Lound St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SUTTON CUM LOUND PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1904 Marriages 1539-1938 Burials 1539-1915 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton cum Lound
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Military[edit | edit source]
War memorial, Town Street, Lound. A transcription of Memorial inscriptions of those who fell in 1914-1918, 1939-1945 and those who served in 1914, on the local War Memorial. Article in Notiinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 97, page 43, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, John M, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.