Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staine
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Swaffham Prior consisted historically of two parishes:

  • St Cyriac & Julitta
  • St Mary

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SWAFFHAM PRIOR (St. Cyriac), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staine, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles W by N from Newmarket. The living consists of the consolidated vicarages of St. Cyriac and St. Mary. There were formerly two churches in the same cemetery: that of St. Mary has fallen to ruin, except the tower, which from the peculiarity of its situation, forms an interesting object; that of St. Cyriac has been lately rebuilt.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Swaffham Prior parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Swaffham Prior Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1851 1599-1837, 1845-1847
1599-1851

Swaffham Prior, St. Mary, Cambridgeshire at FHL

Parish registers for St. Cyriac and St. Julitta's Church, Swaffham-Prior, 1559-1877 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Swaffham-Prior, 1599-1851 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Swaffham Prior on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 280-283. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.