Swanscombe, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Swanscombe, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Swanscombe St Peter & St Paul Kent
|Hundred||Axton, Dartford and Wilmington|
|Poor Law Union||Dartford|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1718|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SWANSCOMBE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 4 miles E from Dartford. 
Swanscombe is a small town part of the civil parish of Swanscombe and Greenhithe in the Dartford district of Kent Swanscombe Wikipedia
Swanscombe St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish on the south bank of the River Thames.
The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
From this parish were formed:
Greenhithe St Mary London Road
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Swanscombe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.