Switzerland Languages
| Switzerland Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Switzerland Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Switzerland has four official languages: German, French, Italian, and Romansh. The German speakers are 65% of the population while the French are 18%, Italian 10%, Romansh 1% and others 6%. Many Swiss speak more than one language. Romansh is an old Latin dialect spoken mainly in the mountains of Graubünden. French is spoken officially in six cantons: Fribourg, Vaud, Jura, Valais, Neuchâtel, and Geneva. Italian is spoken in Ticino and parts of Graubünden. German with a myriad of dialects is spoken in the other fifteen cantons: Zurich, Bern, Lucerne, Uri, Schwyz, Unterwalden (consists of half cantons of Obwalden and Nidwalden), Glarus, Zug, Solothurn, Basel (consists of half cantons of Basel-Stadt and Baselland), Schaffhausen, Appenzell (consists of half cantons of Appenzell-Innerrhoden and Appenzell-Ausserrhoden), St. Gallen, Aargau, Thurgau, and in the rest of Graubünden. Major foreign groups are southern and Eastern Europeans. Records are written in the major languages and Latin which was used extensively in early records.[1]
Swiss Genealogical Word List[edit | edit source]
This is a list of commonly used words found in German Swiss church records, family registers and church census records. This list includes words found in dialect spellings. For further German words, please use the German Word List:
For the French speaking parts of Switzerland, see the French word list:
For the Italian speaking parts of Switzerland see the Italian Word List:
| Abend, Abig | evening |
| achtzehnhundert | 1800 |
| Abgestorben | Died |
| Allerheiligen | All Saint’s Day, Nov. 1 |
| am | on the |
| am ersten Tag | on the first day |
| am letzten Tag | on the last day |
| am Morge | in the morning |
| angeblich | presumed |
| Anno (Latin) | year |
| ab | of, from |
| ap | of, from |
| Aprell, Aprellen, April | April |
| Barbel | Barbara |
| Bärn | Bern |
| Bärnbiet | area of canton Bern |
| beerdigt | buried |
| begraben | buried |
| Bernbiet | area, canton Bern |
| Bünderland, Bünten | Area, Canton Graubünden |
| Bevölkerung | population |
| Bevölkerungsverzeichnis | census |
| bin | am |
| Brachet, Brachmonat, Brachmonet | June |
| Bruder, Bruoder | Brother |
| Bundesstaat | federal state |
| Bub, Buob | Boy |
| Bur | farmer, peasant |
| Burger, Bürger | citizen |
| Bürgermeister | mayor |
| Chile | church |
| Chilebuoch | church book, parish register |
| Chind | boy |
| Chinder | children |
| Chirurg | surgeon |
| chil, chlin, chlini | little |
| Chnab | boy, servant |
| Chrankheit | illness |
| Christmonat | December |
| Clewi, Clewy, Clöwy | Nicolaus |
| Chreis | district, county |
| Christliche Gmeind | parish, Christian community |
| de | the |
| dem | the, to the |
| der | the, of the |
| des | of, of the |
| Deutsch | German |
| die | the |
| Dochter | daughter |
| Donschtig, Donstag, Donstig | Thursday |
| Dorf | village |
| e, a, | an |
| ebenda | at the same place |
| e chlis Meitli | a little girl |
| e chlis Meitli gtoufft | a little girl was baptized |
| Ee | marriage |
| Eelüt | married couple |
| Ehe | marriage |
| Ehefrau | wife |
| Ehemann | husband |
| ehelich | legitimate |
| ehelich gsegnet | legitimately married |
| Ein Kind getouff(e)t | a child baptized |
| Einwilligung | permission |
| Einwohner | inhabitant |
| eiusdem, ejusdem (Latin) | the same |
| Elsass | Alsace |
| Elsbeth | variation of Elisabeth |
| Elteren, Eltern | parents |
| en | a, an |
| en chlin(e) Buob gtoufft | a little boy was baptized |
| eus | us |
| Fasnacht | Mardi Gras |
| Fater, Fatter | father |
| Feber, Februar | February |
| Feiertag | holiday |
| französisch | French |
| Frankreich, Frankrych | France |
| Freni | Verena, girl’s name |
| Fritag, Fritig, Frytig | Friday |
| Frömde | foreigners |
| Frühling | Spring |
| Gänf, Genf | Geneva |
| genannt | named, called |
| getauft, gtouff(e)t | baptized |
| Gfatter | godparents |
| gheiss(e)t | Called, named |
| ghörend | belonging to |
| ghüratet | married |
| Gote, Gotte, | godmother |
| Göti, Götti | godfather |
| Geschwüster, Geschwüsterti | siblings |
| gsait | said |
| gsi, gsin | been, has been, were |
| gtoufft | baptized |
| Gvatter | godparents |
| Hans | diminutive form of Johannes |
| Hansli | form of Hans |
| Heiri | variation of Heinrich |
| heist, heysst | called, named |
| Hochzit, Hochzyt, Hochzyg | marriage |
| hürate(n) | to marry |
| Hus | house, home |
| Husfrau | wife |
| hüt | today |
| ins Jenseits brerufen worden | called to the other side, died |
| isch | is, was, has |
| Jagli, Jägli, Jogli | form of Jacob |
| Jänner | January |
| Jar | year |
| Kilche | church |
| Kilchenbuoch | church book parish register |
| Landsass / Landsässin | Official resident, lacking full citizenship |
| lediges Kind | Illegitimate child |
| Maitschi | girl |
| Mäntig, Mäntag | Monday |
| Meitli, Meitschi | girl |
| mer | we |
| mer gönd | we are going |
| mer händ | we have |
| Messmer | sexton, sacristan |
| Mett | middle |
| Mutter, Muotter | mother |
| nempt | named |
| Oschter, Oster | Easter |
| Oschermäntig | Easter Monday |
| Oschtersuntig | Easter Sunday |
| Östrych | Austria |
| Pur | farmer |
| sächs | six |
| Samschtig | Saturday |
| Sangalla | St. Gallen |
| Schorschli | George |
| Schryber | scribe |
| Schuol | school |
| sin | his |
| Stina | Christina |
| Sun | son |
| Sunntig, Sunntag | Sunday |
| syn | his |
| Thochter | daughter |
| Töchterli | Daughter |
| Torf | village |
| Trina, Trini | Christina |
| Tütsch | German |
| uff | on, at, upon |
| uff d’ Wält cho | Came into the world, born |
| Ule, Uli | Ulrich |
| undt | and |
| Unkel, Unklen | uncle |
| Uoroch, Urech, Urich | Ulrich |
| unn | and |
| Vrene, Vreni | Verena |
| Weyb | wife |
| Wittfrouw | widow |
| Wolfmonat | December |
| Wuche | week |
| Wyb, Wyp | wife |
| ygsegnet | consecrated, married |
| zäh | ten |
| zähn | ten |
| zfrüe | too early |
| Ziestag, Ziestig, Zinstag | Tuesday |
| Zmittag | noon |
| Zmorge | In the morning, breakfast |
| Zügen | witnesses |
| zu, zuo | to, at |
| zvieri | at four |
| zweh | two |
| Zwo | two |
| Zyt | time |
| 7bris | September |
| 8bris | October |
| 9bris | November |
| 10bris, Xbris | December |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Switzerland,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1984-1998.
