Tajikistan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tajikistan)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tajikistan ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tajikistan Wiki Topics
Flag of Tajikistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Tajikistan Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Tajikistan is a country in Asia bordered by Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, China, and Afghanistan. It was formerly ruled by Russia and the Soviet Union. The official language is Persian (Tajik).[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Tajikistan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Tajikistan research.

Tajikistan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Tajikistan research.

Tajikistan Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the province level in Tajikistan. Tajikistan is divided into two provinces (viloyatho, singular - viloyat) and one autonomous province* (viloyati mukhtor):

  1. Viloyati Sughd (Khujand)
  2. Region of Republican Subordination
  3. Viloyati Khatlon
  4. Viloyati Mukhtor Gorno Badakhshon

Tajikistan provinces.png

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tajikistan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tajikistan, accessed 21 April 2016.