Talk:Alderley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Alderley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Alderley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1629-1894
1629-1901
1629-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1629-1894
1629-1901
1629-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1600-1942
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Other Anglican churches include:

  • Alderley, St. Mary. The ancient parish church for Over Alderley. Wilmslow, St. Bartholomew. The ancient parish church for Alderley Edge. Refer to Wilmslow for Alderley Edge.
  • Birtles, St. Catherine. The parish church for Over Alderley since 1890.
  • Chorley (Alderley Edge), St. Philip. Built in 1853 as a chapel to Wilmslow, becoming the parish church for Chorley (near Wilmslow) and Alderley Edge in 1866. Registers of Baptisms 1853–1924 and Marriages 1866–1959 have been deposited at the Record Office (no burials here).
  • Lindow, St John the Evangelist. The parish church for part of Alderley Edge since 1877.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Alderley St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FMP =findmypast
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Alderley St Mary Parish (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1629-1837


CPR 1629-1871
1629-1871
1629-1871
FMP



1600-1942
1600-1942
FS PR's 1629-1902
  NONE
1629-1901
  NONE
1629-1861   NONE
FS BT'S 1629-1902
  NONE
1629-1901
  NONE
1629-1861
  NONE
JOIN

1599-1837


NBI



1600-1942
TGEN

1629-1837


Alderley records at the Cheshire

  • Parish registers, 1629-1901. CRO call no.: P143/1/1-3, 2/1-2, 3/1-4, 4/1, 5/1.
  • Bishop's transcripts, 1599-1837. CRO microfilm no.: EDB 2

 Here is a list of Alderley parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms: 1629-1849 Banns of marriages: 1754, 1761-1769 Marriages: 1629-1786 Burials: 1629-1812 2147305, items 9-12
Baptisms, 1849-1894 Banns, 1770-1785 Marriages, 1754-1901 Burials, 1813-1861 2147322, items 1-7
Bishops Transcripts: Film
Baptisms, 1599 1647803 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1612-1641, 1661-1821 (with gaps) 1647803 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1837 1647804 Item 1

In addition, the library has Phillimore's publication of "Marriages at Alderley, 1629-1837."  FHL Film 88607 Item 2.

The Alderley parish has been transcribed and is available online Cheshire Parish Register project.

Other Anglican churches include:

  • Alderley, St. Mary. The ancient parish church for Over Alderley. Wilmslow, St. Bartholomew. The ancient parish church for Alderley Edge. Refer to Wilmslow for Alderley Edge.
  • Birtles, St. Catherine. The parish church for Over Alderley since 1890.
  • Chorley (Alderley Edge), St. Philip. Built in 1853 as a chapel to Wilmslow, becoming the parish church for Chorley (near Wilmslow) and Alderley Edge in 1866. Registers of Baptisms 1853–1924 and Marriages 1866–1959 have been deposited at the Record Office (no burials here).
  • Lindow, St John the Evangelist. The parish church for part of Alderley Edge since 1877.
  • ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  • Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  • Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  • 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  • 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.