Talk:Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Alston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Alston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Garrigill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Garrigill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/111 March 1760-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. For some Garrigill transcripts February 1784-Sept 1840 it is necessary to view the Alston transcripts. The dates of  the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Alston transcripts can be found at DDR/EA/PBT/2/8  March 1762-1840 and include the Garrigill transcripts February 1784-March 1840 see also the seperate transcripts for Garrigill referred to above.

In addition the transcripts for the Alston and Haltwhistle Friends Burial Ground register transcripts are held at DDR/EA/PBT/2/9 for 1873-1884 and include  Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Parish registers of Alston, 1700-1960 at the FHL

Parish registers for Garrigill, 1706-1959 at the FHL

Alston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[3]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
ALSTON PARISH (1762) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1701-1815


FREG 1762-1860 None 1762-1860 None 1762-1860 None
FS BTs
1762-1840 1762-1840
1762-1840

Garrigill, Cumberland chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Garrigill Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1699-1812


FS BTs
1760-1839 1760-1839
1760-1839
FS BTs
1762-1840 1762-1840
1762-1840
PRTs 1730-1812 1730-1812 1730-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/111 March 1760-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. For some Garrigill transcripts February 1784-Sept 1840 it is necessary to view the Alston transcripts. The dates of  the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Alston transcripts can be found at DDR/EA/PBT/2/8  March 1762-1840 and include the Garrigill transcripts February 1784-March 1840 see also the seperate transcripts for Garrigill referred to above.

In addition the transcripts for the Alston and Haltwhistle Friends Burial Ground register transcripts are held at DDR/EA/PBT/2/9 for 1873-1884 and include  Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends.

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
  4. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.