Talk:Ansford, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Ansford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Somerset Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Somerset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1531-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Somerset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Somerset Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Ansford Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes/images
Indexes only
Indexes/images
Indexes only
Indexes/images
Indexes only
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1554-1903
1559-1933
1555-1957
ANC 1 1531-1812
1531-1812
1531-1812
ANC 2 1813-1914
1754-1914
1813-1914
TGEN 1598-1812
1598-1812
1598-1886
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1598-1886
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Somerset Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Somerset Archives and Local Studies.

Church records on microfilm[edit source]

Bishops Transcriptions

Parish Register

Church Vital Records

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [3] .

Almsford or Ansford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
ALMSFORD or ANSFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1554-1903
1559-1913
1555-1885
FS 1598-1732, 1802-1812


FS 1554-1837
1554-1837

MARR
1559-1837

NBI

1598-1886
PALL
1802-1812

SOPC 1813-1903
1838-1910

Church records on microfilm[edit source]

Bishops Transcriptions

Parish Register

Church Vital Records

  • Searching Parish Records online (Somerset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  • ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  • England Church Records
  • 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  • 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  • 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  • 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  • Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.