Talk:Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Christ Church Newgate Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[2][3]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[4]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[5]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[6][7][8]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[9]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Christ Church Newgate Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1754
1542-1753
1540-1754
ARCHIVE
1538-1753
1542-1753
1540-1753
FMP



1813-1836
FMP Bur



1538-1811
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1824-1916 1824-1916 1797-1931 1797-1931 1814-1836 1814-1836
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1538-1753
1542-1753
1540-1753
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1779, 1804-1874
1542-1880


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1940
1538-1940
1538-1940
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1836
1639-1836
1639-1836

St Leonard Foster Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Leonard Foster Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1639-1836
ANC 1 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809
ANC 2 1813-1831 1813-1831 1800-1831 1800-1831 1813-1836 1813-1836
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1836
1639-1836
1639-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Christ Church Newgate Street Parish[edit source]

Online Christ Church Newgate Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1540
1540
Images
1538-1588 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[11]
1813-1906 Ancestry[12] 1758-1921 Ancestry[13] 1814-1836 Ancestry[14]
Indexes 1538-1753 TheGenealogist[15] 1540-1753 findmypast[16] 1540-1753 TheGenealogist[15]
1538-1753 InternetArchive[17] 1542-1753 TheGenealogist[15] 1540-1753 InternetArchive[17]
1538-1754 FreeReg[18] 1542-1753 FreeReg[18] 1540-1754 FreeReg[18]
1639-1640 findmypast[19] 1542-1753 InternetArchive[17]
1639-1640
1802
findmypast[20]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[21]    


St Leonard Foster Lane Parish[edit source]

Online St Leonard Foster Lane Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1639
1639
1639
Images
1639-1809 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials
1813-1841 Ancestry 1800-1831 Ancestry 1813-1836 Ancestry
Indexes 1639-1640
1800-1802
1808
findmypast
1639-1640
1800-1802
1808
findmypast 1811-1854 findmypast[22]
    1639-1808 findmypast    
    1780-1837 Ancestry    


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

  1. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  2. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  3. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christ Church, Newgate Street in the City of London | Christ Church and St Leonard, Foster Lane in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  12. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  13. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  14. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  15. 15.0 15.1 15.2 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  16. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  17. 17.0 17.1 17.2 Willoughby A. Littledale, The Registers of Christ Church, Newgate, 1538 to 1754 (London: Harleian Society, 1895).
  18. 18.0 18.1 18.2 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  19. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  20. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  21. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  22. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.