To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Uckfield, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Uckfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Uckfield Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Deposited parish Records held at East Sussex Record Office

The church was rebuilt by William Moseley in 1839 on the site of an earlier and smaller church, of which the tower and parts of the chancel walls were incorporated into the new structure. It is dedicated to the Holy Cross, and was extended in 1889.
Until 1846 the church was a chapel-of-ease to  Buxted, Sussex. It then became a separate parish with its own perpetual curate, who became a rector in 1865.
A chapel-of-ease, St Saviour, Framfield Road, opened in 1904 and was a temporary structure of wood and iron; it remained in use until 1971. A new building opened in 1972 in part of a block of flats for the elderly.
Contents:
INCUMBENT
PAR496/1/1 Early registers, 1530-1812
PAR496/1/2 Baptism registers, 1813-1994
PAR496/1/3 Marriage registers, 1813-1989
PAR496/1/4 Banns registers, 1931-1944
PAR496/ 1/5 Burial registers, 1813-1938
PAR496/2 Records relating to the parish registers and interments, 1747-2002
PAR496/3 Service registers, 1889-2000
PAR496/4 Buildings, 1741-1983
PAR496/5 Licenses, 1877-1962
PAR496/6 Income of the benefice, 1846-1950
PAR496/7 Incumbent's other records, 1831-1995
CHURCHWARDENS
PAR496/8 Rates, 1828-1871
PAR496/9 Accounts, 1704-1937
PAR496/10 Property, 1672 - [1951]
PAR496/11 Churchwardens' other records, c1815-1957
VESTRY
PAR496/12 Minutes, 1623-1940
PAR496/13 Other vestry records, 1852-1889
PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL
PAR496/14 Minutes, 1926-1993
PAR496/15 Accounts, 1931-1934
PAR496/16 Other Parochial Church Council records, 1915-1976
STATUTORY DEPOSITS
PAR496/21 Tithe, [1841] - 1932
PAR496/22 Railway records, 1852
PAR496/24 CHARITY, 1740-1994
PAR496/25 SCHOOLS, 1850-1976
PAR496/26 OTHER RECORDS, 1849-1913
PAR496/29 CONSTABLES, 1838-1841
OVERSEERS
PAR496/30 Rates, 1702-1834
PAR496/31 Accounts, 1704-1835
PAR496/32/1 Settlement certificates, 1699-1786
PAR496/32/2 Removal orders from parish, 1668-1786
PAR496/ 32/3 Removal orders to parish, 1697-1786
PAR496/32/4 Settlement examinations, 1735-1784
PAR496/33 Apprenticeship, 1653-1760
PAR496/34/1 Bastardy examinations, 1724-1770
PAR496/34/2 Warrants to arrest putative fathers, 1706-1782
PAR496/ 34/3 Bastardy bonds, 1680-1780
PAR496/34/4 Maintenance orders, 1724-1779
PAR496/35 Other settlement records, 1671-1783
PAR496/37 Other Overseers' records, 1697-1847
SURVEYORS
PAR496/39 Rates, 1837-1840
PAR496/40 Accounts 1724
PAR496/41 Other records, 1725
PAR496/43 OTHER CHURCH BODIES; 1905-1975

Uckfield Holy Cross records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bishop’s transcripts 1664-1883
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Uckfield

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk