Talk:United States Genealogy
I miss the list of states[edit source]
Murphynw 22:09, 8 December 2014 (UTC)
Should the territories be moved higher?[edit source]
Right now, they are under everything, including help wanted. Do they make sense under the States area? AdkinsWH 03:36, 6 June 2011 (UTC)
- Yeah, it doesn't make sense to me for it to be under Help Wanted either. I agree, under the map, or even just above Help Wanted makes sense. -- janellv 16:43, 29 August 2011 (UTC)
- I agree, and moved the help wanted section. And removed the unresolved template.Klk3 21:04, 16 April 2012 (UTC)
|United States Wiki Topics|
|United States Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to United States ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military records, and other major record types.
State Genealogy Pages[edit source]
Click on a state on this map to open that state's page:
Territories and Federal District[edit source]
Former Territories[edit source]
Getting started with United States research[edit source]
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Research Strategies[edit source]
- Principles of Family History Research
- How to Locate Your Ancestor in the United States
- How to Recognize your United States Ancestor
Research Tools[edit source]
- United States Record Selection Table
- FamilySearch U.S. record collections available on FamilySearch.org.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness (RAOGK) - RAOGK is a global volunteer organization. Our volunteers take time to do everything from looking up courthouse records to taking pictures of tombstones.
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Rotating Formation County Boundary Maps and Atlases for each State
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- Printable Maps from the National Atlas of the United States -- The Reference and Outline Maps of the United States and of the individual states are of most value to a genealogist. Other types of maps are also available from this site.
- Tracing Immigrant Origins
- United States Census Bureau State and County Map. This map will allow you to zoom in on any State or County in the United States and read the names of all of the neighboring Counties. This makes it easy to see close by locations where other relatives might have lived. This map shows current Counties, consult the individual State Maps section to find out about historical maps. You can even type in a county name in the search box to locate the county on the map.
- A complete descriptive and statistical gazetteer of the United States of America ...: with an abstract of the census and statistics for 1840 (Compiled by Daniel Haskel, John Calvin Smith pub 1843)
- BYU United States Research Outline largely duplicates these Wiki pages. Includes some bibliographic lists from BYU Library, 2001.
- American Revolutionary War (1775-1783)
- The American Civil War
- How to order State Vital Records
- Rotating Formation State / County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Online State Archives are an often-overlooked resource that can include very useful family history information such as state census and voter rolls, military pensions, slave records, court cases, and much more.
- United States of America Resources and help pages on RootsChat United States of America Resources and help pages. (Free)
- LDS Family History Center locator These centers have 14 free websites which would otherwise cost $; and they offer research assistance.
Now I finally must learn to do something other than our Center Page!
In the heading "More United States Research Tools" the link to "Ancestry's Red Book" yields:
The Ancestry Wiki has moved . . .
Then you are redirected to: https://wiki.rootsweb.com/wiki/index.php?title=Red_Book:_American_State,_County,_and_Town_Sources
Would someone with greater skill please update the link?