Talk:Wales Compiled Genealogies
Thank YOU / YOUR Article is Selected[edit source]
The FamilySearch Research Wiki is delighted to let you know that the “Wales Genealogy December 10, 2012 and remain for seven days. Thank you for your excellent work – you have given readers/researchers important access to records. Your contributions are appreciated and will assist others in finding their ancestors. You have made a difference in research!
We invite you to do any enhancing, editing or changing to this article before we post it. If you are considering an edit we ask that it be completed by December 9, 2012. If you feel this article is not ready to be highlighted, please let us know. Thank you for your time and effort!
Featured Article Committee members –
I don't think that articles like this, which are little more than what was originally in the research outline published by FamilySearch, should be a featured article. There is plenty of new information that could be added to make this worth being featured on the main page of the wiki. Perhaps the frequency of rotation for the featured articles could be decreased if this is the best we have at the current rate.Darris G. Williams 14:45, 12 November 2012 (UTC)
Old Content[edit source]
The population in Wales was estimated to be 3,006,400 from the 2011 census.
The city of Cardiff, on the south coast, is the country's capital, seat of government and chief commercial centre. It has a population of around 350,000.
Learn how to start your Welsh genealogy.
Featured resources[edit source]
- Emigration: Record Selection Guide
- Key Online Record Set: Welsh Probates
- Browse by Topic: Pages for Wales
- FamilySearch: Welsh Records
- Article: Wales Missing Census Records
- Research Places: Aberkenfig Resource Centre Cefn Mawr Resource Centre
- National Library of Wales: Manuscript Pedigrees
- Family, house, and local history: Archives Wales
- The 1911 census is now available online for all of Wales. About 13% of the schedules are printed and filled out in Welsh.
- Ordnance Survey Maps with registration district boundaries free to search online
- The National Library of Wales at Aberystwyth has begun a £20 million project to make large parts of its collection available on-line. The project will take 10 years to complete and will involve the digitising of millions of documents, newspapers and books.
- The latest national Census in Wales took place on 27 March, 2011.
- BBC Wales have relaunched their website on Welsh Family History
- FamilySearch now has Welsh parish registers on microfilm.
- The International Society for British Genealogy and Family History will offer a week long course on Welsh family history 10-14 October 2016.