Talke, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Talke, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Registration District||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Parish registers: 1830|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1786|
|Rural Deanery||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Talke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1741 from Audley, Staffordshire Genealogy Ancient Parish. TALK-O'-TH'-HILL, a chapelry, in the parish of Audley, union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Newcastle. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
See also Staffordshire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Talke St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|TALKE PARISH Online Records|
Talke St Saviour Mission church to this parish closed 1969
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1949-1969 Mar 1948-1966 Bur no burial ground
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
King St. Methodist Chapel (Talke Pits) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|KING ST METHODIST CHAPEL (TALKE PITS) (1869) Online Records|
New Rd Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Talke) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NEW RD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (TALKE) (1846) Online Records|
For records transcribed by FreeREG please search under AUDLEY
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 294-297. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.