Tamworth, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Tamworth, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Hemlingford; North Offlow; South Offlow|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Tamworth|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Tamworth is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Part of the parish is also in Warwickshire. Wilnecote, Warwickshire Genealogy is a chapelry of Tamworth. Other places in the parish include: Syerscote. TAMWORTH (St.Edith), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N., and partly in the S., division of the hundred of Offlow, S. division of the county of Stafford; and partly in the Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.
The History of the Town and Castle of Tamworth: In the Counties of Stafford and Warwick (1845) digitised by Google Books - free.
The History and Antiquities of the Collegiate Church of Tamworth, in the County of Stafford (1871) digitised by Google Books - free.
Resources[edit | edit source]
|Part of this parish is in Warwickshire. See also Tamworth, Warwickshire Genealogy.|
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Tamworth St Editha parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|TAMWORTH ST EDITHA PARISH (1549) Online Records|
|FS||1556-1614, 1664-1809, 1813-1868||1557-1614, 1664-1766, 1773-1809, 1813-1844|
Tamworth St Editha deposited parish registers held at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1558-1995, Mar 1558-1994, Bur 1558-1919 Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1664-1869, Mar 1664-1844, Bur 1664-1869 note Bap/bur missing for 1865
Tamworth St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TAMWORTH ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1837) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Tamworth Cole Hill Presbyterian registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TAMWORTH COLE HILL PRESBYTERIAN (1695) Online Records|
Tamworth Primitive Methodist Circuit registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TAMWORTH PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT (1869) Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Tamworth, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 297-300. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8