To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tanworth Salter's Street, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


{{Infobox England Jurisdictions.

Tanworth Salter's Street, Warwickshire
St. Patrick, Salter Street Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Solihull
Registration District Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SALTERS-STREET, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Tanworth, union of Solihull, Warwick division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 2½ miles (W. by N.) from Hockley.[1]

Additional information:

Tanworth St Patrick Salter's Street is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1843 from Tanworth-in-Arden, Warwickshire Ancient Parish.

TANWORTH (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Solihull, Henley division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 4 miles (N. W. by N.) from Henley-in-Arden; containing 1925 inhabitants. This parish, which is near the road and the canal from Birmingham to Stratford, comprises, with the liberty of Monks-Ridings, 9400 acres of land, divided among several freeholders, of whom Edward Bolton King, Esq., is lord of the manor. There are 4663 acres of arable, and 3890 of pasture; the remainder of the area is composed of wood and waste grounds. The soil on one side of the parish is chiefly clay, and the lands are under good cultivation. Umberslade Hall, here, the seat of Mr. King, and formerly the residence of the Lords Archer, is a handsome mansion built in 1720 with stone from the quarry in the parish. The village is pleasantly situated; the manufacture of wick-yarn was once carried on in it to a considerable extent. A fair for cattle and sheep is held on the 23rd of April, and one at the end of September for hiring servants. The living is a discharged vicarage, valued in the king's books at £6. 13. 4., and in the patronage of Viscount Holmesdale, who, with Mr. King, is impropriator: the vicarial tithes have been commuted for £500, and the impropriate for £1223. An excellent Vicarage-house has been built by the incumbent, the Rev. Dr. Saunders, master of the Charter-House school, London: the glebe comprises 40 acres. The church was originally a handsome structure in the decorated English style, but has been greatly impaired by injudicious alterations made within the last fifty years. A church has been erected at Salters-Street, which see; and two schools for boys, and two for girls, are supported out of bequests producing £150 per annum, the remainder of which is distributed to the poor. There is a place of worship for Independents

From: 'Tamerton-Folliott - Tapton', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 297-300. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51327 Date accessed: 22 February 2011.

SALTERS-STREET, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Tanworth, union of Solihull, Warwick division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 2½ miles (W. by N.) from Hockley; containing 1010 inhabitants. It is bounded on the north-east by the turnpike-road between Birmingham and Henley, and is intersected by the Birmingham and Stratford canal. Brick-making is carried on. The living is in the patronage of the Vicar of Tanworth, and has a net income of £120, chiefly paid by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The church was erected in 1840, at a cost of £1400, derived from land sold to the Canal Company, and is a neat building with a cupola: it is dedicated to St. Patrick. A boys' and girls' school is supported by subscription, aided by an endowment.

From: 'Salisbury - Salwarpe', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51253 Date accessed: 22 February 2011.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Tanworth Salter's Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1963 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Warwickshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Warwickshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
MyH = England, Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Warwickshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Tanworth Salter's Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1535-1963
1535-1963
1535-1963
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1532-2009
1522-2013
1526-2011
FMP Banns

1558-2011


ANC 1 1535-1812
1535-1812
1535-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1754-1910
1813-1910
MyH 1538-1900
1538-1900
1538-1900
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1538-1935
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Warwickshire Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Warwickshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Warwickshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk