Teddesley Hay, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Teddesley Hay, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Teddesley Hay, Staffordshire|
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Penkridge|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Teddesley Hay is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Teddesley Hay like this:
TEDDESLEY-HAY, an extra-parochial tract in Penkridge district, Stafford; 2 miles ENE of Penkridge. Acres, 2,430. Real property, £4,224. Pop., 117. Houses, 20. T. Hall is the seat of Lord Atherton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Teddesley Hay parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Teddesley Hay Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Staffordshire Record Office.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.