Teigh, Rutland Genealogy
Guide to Teigh, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Oakham|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1707|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Rutland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TEIGH (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Alstoe, county of Rutland, 5 miles N from Oakham. 
The Victoria County History of Teigh (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.
TEIGH, a parish in Oakham district, Rutland; 1½ mile NNE of Ashwell railway station, and 4¾ N by E of Oakham.
Teigh Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish; the church almost unaltered since a 1782 rebuild, that features pews that face one another rather than the altar.
The writer Arthur Mee proposed Teigh as one of the few Thankful Villages which lost no men in World War I.
Richard Folville, a member of the gang of robbers led by his older brother Eustace was rector here from 1321. In 1340-41 he was besieged in the church and then summarily executed outside. Anthony Jenkinson, main trader of the Muscovy Company was buried here in 1611. He had travelled as far as Bukhara when trying to reach Cathay overland from Moscow, and established overland trade routes through Russia to Persia.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Teigh Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Rutland|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past Parish Registers - Rutland ($)|
|Find My Past Banns-Rutland ($)|
|Ancestry-Church of England BMD ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Rutland Records and Archives
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
- A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.