Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1868
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wisbech
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Parish of Thorney
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

THORNEY ABBEY, (St. Botolph), a market-town and parish, in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 7 miles NE by E from Peterborough, and 86 N from London. The church, originally the nave of the conventual church, was built about 1128.[1]

Also known as Thorney.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Thorney Abbey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Thorney Abbey Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1866-1871
1866-1871

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • French Church
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Thorney Abbey on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.