Tillington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Tillington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TILLINGTON, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Artjndel, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (W.) from Petworth. The parish is bounded on the south by the Rother navigation. The body of the church was almost entirely rebuilt in 1837, at the expense of the Earl of Egremont; the tower had been erected by the earl in 1808, in imitation of the tower of St. Dunstan's-in-the-East, London. In the hamlet of River was formerly a chapel.
A history of the church Tillington All Hallows
The Parish Church of All Hallows has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Tillington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Tillington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|BIVRI||1571-1875 (gaps)||1571-1856 (gaps)|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tillington
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-360. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.