Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Dudley|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Prebend of Prees or Pipe Minor|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Tipton St Paul was formed in 1842 from part of Tipton St Martin, Staffordshire Genealogy Ancient parish
Tipton St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|TIPTON ST PAUL PARISH (1839) Online Records|
Tipton St Matthew was formed on 11th February 1881 from part of St Paul's parish. The church, in Dudley Road, was erected in 1876.
Tipton St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TIPTON ST MATTHEW PARISH (1881) Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 August 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.