Toa Alta, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Toa Alta family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Toa Alta is located west of the capital city of San Juan and was founded in 1751, making it one of the oldest towns on the island of Puerto Rico. The name Toa Alta comes from the Taíno word for mother or fertility.
Hurricane Maria on September 20, 2017 triggered numerous landslides in Toa Alta Many homes and roads in Toa Alta were destroyed by the hurricane.
in 2010, the United States Census listed the population as 74,000. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Toa Alta, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Toa Alta, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toa_Alta,_Puerto_Rico#History, accessed 12/27/20.