Torsken Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Torsken, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Torsken Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Berg
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Berg og Torsken tinglag se ovenfor
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Berg clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Berg and Torsken. The church books begin in 1783.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 36: Lofoten and Vesterålen deanery, Senja deanery and Troms deanery Digital Archives


  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county Digitsal Archives



  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Senja fogderi. The 1763 tax census for Senja fogderi includes the parishes of Astafjord, Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy, Lenvik, Hillesøy, Torsken, Tranøy, Berg and Mefjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.


  • 1801-telling for Torsken is also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet.


  • 1865, 1875, 1891, 1900, see Berg clerical district.



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

38 Aarberg,

24 Bakke, 18 Ballesvik, 21 Barbogen, 32 Botn, 24 Bugten, 40 Bunkan,

35 Finnes, 39 Flakstad,

36 Giske, 29 Grundfarnes, 22 Gryllefjord, 23 Gryllefjordbotn,

42 Halvardsøen, 24 Haugen, 27 Holmen,

30 Kaldfarnes, 26 Kjerringvik, 25 Kongsnes,

37 Leikvik med Blaastrand, 40 Lomsnes,

31 Meby,

41 Rødsand,

20 Sandsvik, 34 Sifjord, 40 Steinjorden, 40 Stordalen,

19 Teistevik, 24 Torsken,

33 Veimanden, 24 Værneset,

28 Ørja

Berg og Torsken Bygdebok Volume I

Alfheim, Bakke, Bakken, Bakkevoll, Ballesvik, Ballesvikbotn, Barbogen, Berg, Berglund, Bergsbotn, Bergsøyan, Botn, Brattland, Bukta, Bunkan, Buskenes, Bø, Bøvær, Doktorlunden, Elvebakken, Elvejord, Elvejorda, Elveland, Elvelund, Elvemo, Elvevoll, Ersfjord, Fagerheim, Finnes, Finnsæter, Firkanten, Fiskenes, Fjellborg, Fjellet, Flakstad, Flaten, Foss, Fredheim, Fredlund, Fremtiden, Frydenlund, Giska, Giske, Grehopneset, Grunnfarnes, Gryllefjord, Gryllefjordbotn, Halvardsøy, Hamn, Haugen, Haugland, Haugvoll, Heggelia, Hofsøy, Holmen, Hopen, Huldhaugen, Hvitsten, Håverjord, Indregård, Innergård, Innerholmen, Kaldfarnes, Kampevoll, Katteberg, Kjerringvik, Klokkargarden, Knarvik, Kongsnes, Kveldro, Kvitsteinnes, Laberget, Landsletta, Langbakken, Lavoll, Leikvik, Leirbakmo, Leirstein, Leirvoll, Lenningsbakken, Litlebø, Lomsnes, Lottenes, Lutnes, Lyngan, Løvdal, Medby, Medfjord, Medfjordbotn, Mellomgård, Middagsletta, Midtgård, Mikalparten, Mo, Moen, Mollnes, Myra, Myrbakk, Myre, Myrland, Myrlund, Myrseth, Myrvoll, Mølnevik, Nerland, Nesland, Nikkelverket, Nordengen, Nordfjord, Nordheim, Nyland, Nylund, Nymo, Nøysomheten, Prestegården, Rabben, Roligheten, Rødsand, Sandbakk, Sandsvik, Sandsøyra, Senjavåg, Sifjord, Sildevik, Sjølund, Sjøvollen, Skaland, Skjellelv, Skoglund, Skognes, Skrevoll, Sletten, Slettevoll, Slettstrand,Slettvoll, Smevik, Smibakken, Solbakken, Solheim, Sollia, Solum, Solvang, Sommerset, Stamnesvika, Steinbakk, Steinfjord, Steinhaug, Steinheim, Steinjorda, Steinli, Stordalen, Strand, Strandbakken, Strandby, Straumsnes, Sæter, Teistevik, Tofte, Toften, Torsken, Undland, Utstrand, vangen, Veimannen, Vik, Vikan, Vollen, Værnes, Værselbakken, Vårhaug, Vårlund, Ytre Berg, Ytre lavoll, Ytre Skjellelv, Yttergård

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Kleiva, Ivar, 1903: noko om Teodora Nilsen og Hilmar Pettersens forfeder, ætt og etterkomarar.  A genealogy of the ancestors and descendants of Teodora Jakobsdatter Nilsen born in 1881 on Elvebakken in Dyrøy, Troms, Norway and died 1933 and Hilmar Pettersen born in 1881 on Gryllefjord in Torsken, Troms, Norway.  Died 1940.

FHL 929.2481 A1

Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Brox, Arthur: Berg og Torsken Bygdebok Bind I Gardshistoria. Berg og Torsken Kommunar, Tromsø 1959